Breconshire, or Brecknockshire, is one of thirteen historic counties of Wales, and is named after its county town of Brecon.

The county is mountainous and primarily rural, and is land-locked, being bordered to the north by Radnorshire, to the east by Herefordshire and Monmouthshire, to the south by Monmouthshire and Glamorgan, and to the west by Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire.

The county has numerous war memorials in its towns and villages, mostly situated in Churches and Chapels. It also has a rich military history, being the home county to the famed South Wales Borderers. Below is a list of some of the towns and villages in the county. Those with hyperlinks point to completed pages on this website. Those without are yet to be written up:

Breconshire War Memorials

Abercrave War Memorial

Beaufort War Memorial

Brecon War Memorial

Bronllys War Memorial

Brynmawr War Memorial

Builth Wells War Memorial

Bwlch War Memorial

Crickhowell War Memorial

Hay-on-Wye War Memorial

Llanelly War Memorial

Llanwrtyd Wells War Memorial

Pontiscill War Memorial

Rassau War Memorial

Talgarth War Memorial

Vaynor War Memorial

Ystalyfera War Memorial

Ystradgynlais War Memorial