Montgomeryshire is one of thirteen historic counties. It is named after its county town, Montgomery, which in turn is named after one of William the Conqueror’s main allies, Roger de Montgomerie, the 1st Earl of Shrewsbury.

The county is land-locked and is bordered, to the north, by Denbighshire, to the east and south east by Shropshire, to the south by Radnorshire, to the south west by Cardiganshire, and to the west and north west by Merionethshire.

The county has numerous war memorials in its towns and villages, mostly situated in Churches and Chapels. Below is a list of some of the towns and villages in the county. Those with hyperlinks point to completed pages on this website. Those without are yet to be written up:

Montgomeryshire War Memorials

Aberhafesp War Memorial

Berriew War Memorial

Castle Caereinion War Memorial

Cemmaes War Memorial

Llandysilio War Memorial

Llanfair Caereinion War Memorial

Llangedwen War Memorial

Llanidloes War Memorial

Llanrhaeadr War Memorial

Llansantffraid War Memorial

Manafon War Memorial

Mochdre War Memorial

Newtown War Memorial

Welshpool War Memorial